Rainbow Band
Donate to the Intrepid Museum
Home > November 2013 > The Intrepid Museum Dedicates New Seats of Honor
The Intrepid Museum Dedicates New Seats of Honor
Posted: 11/13/2013 9:03:58 AM

seats of honor

Honorees at Monday’s Veterans Day Seats of Honor Dedication Ceremony.
(Photo courtesy of Erika Kapin.)

As the Intrepid Sea, Air & Space Museum thanked our veterans and men and women in active duty, we gave particular thanks for the service of 19 individuals and a squadron during our Veterans Day Seats of Honor Dedication Ceremony on November 11, 2013.

Museum President Susan Marenoff-Zausner and staff were joined by honorees, families and friends as 20 new plaques were dedicated in the Allison and Howard Lutnick Theater. The Museum was honored to hear from these individuals as they shared stories of service, commitment to family and dedication to country.

Ten seats were dedicated in memory of veterans: Robert P. Anderson, Jr., William Michael Brannon, Everett Camp, Robert F. Dias, Hector Giannasca, Jack Carl Hurff, George W. Morrison, Joseph P. Oreiro, William Frederick Thompson and John N. Vuyosevich. Ten seats were dedicated in honor of service: Thomas F. Dugan, Frederick J. Hemmerich, Jr., Jimm Larry Hendren, Chester L. Laws, William P. Pastyrnak, Edward Young Reid II, Rodney Rothwell, Robert E. Tocalino, John A. Vuyosevich and the Fleet Angels squadron.

Each seat is dedicated with a brass plaque engraved with a personal message, and dedication ceremonies are hosted each year on Memorial Day and Veterans Day.

Learn More